Testimonials

Wondering what it would be like participating in the world's best GameMaker game jam?

The avatar of Pelican Police
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

If you want a quick break from your main project, and a dopamine hit from receiving waves of feedback from a passionate community, then the GM48 jam is for you!

5
The avatar of CaptainSkippy
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

It's a great way to lift up your 'gamemakering' career with the support of other friendly 'gamemakerers'

5
The avatar of Wahoo
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Even if you haven't been here from the start, this jam is really open and welcoming, for both beginners and experienced developers. It's a fantastic event to just sit down, make a game and have fun!

5
The avatar of Nyveon
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

No matter your skill level with gamemaker, gm48 is great. It was my first game jam ever and I don't regret it at all, the feeling of community, simple website and rules, all lead to a wonderful and inspiring experience.

5
The avatar of Naxos
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

GM48 is my absolute favorite jam to participate in. Everyone is very friendly and it's a great way to meet other Gamemaker developers while getting great practical experience with the software. I highly recommend that you join the Discord server to really complete the experience!

5
The avatar of TonyStr
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I agree wholeheartedly with MintyPython's testimonial: "GM48 is an inspiring and inclusive event fit for beginners and veterans alike. There's no better place for GameMaker devs to really come together as a community and show off what they've got."

5
The avatar of Lone
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Joining gm(48) has been a great experience.

I think Simon Milfred and I make a robust team and we have so much fun.

Will do it again!

5
The avatar of Juju
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

It's the only GameMaker game jam that's worth participating in.

It's well-supported and every time I'm shocked at how good the game entries are!

It pushes me to be a faster, better developer.

5
The avatar of Chubb1337
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This was my first GM48 participation and I must say it sure was something. I usually work on small projects in a relaxed 'a few hours here and there' way for several days, but forcing myself to do it all in 48 thought me a few valuable lessons. One of the more positive lesson was how committed I can become to it purely for the reason that there is a deadline to reach. But there was also the emotional part.. Making my game was an emotional roller-coaster from the moment the theme got released till stressing out myself and my surroundings close to submission time. Overall It's been great though, and I am very pleased with the result and the feedback I'm getting.

Because of that I am now in the process taking notes on all the feedback I get and continuing the development. So if you have any feedback/rating for me on the game that is much appreciated.

5
The avatar of BitRapture
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Excellent game jam for any skill level! This jam really brings out the best in people and allows everyone, including myself, to grow their game development skills! I cannot wait for the next one.

5
The avatar of Mohamed Walid YOUSFI
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

GM48 2019 was our first participation to the gamemaker jam, it wasn't our first ever jam but having to compete with people who uses the same engine as yours, knowing that everyone have the same strenghts and limitations, yet all projects are differents and every game is shiny in its only way, was just an awesome experience and test for our team. We had an awesome time doing what we love, showing other developers what we were capable of in such a short time, but also looking at those talented teams make wonders in this same short time. Awesome experience, we will be participating every year!

5
The avatar of PenguinCzar
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

So me and my friend made Fraug, The Mighty Prince and honestly it was the most focused on a project like this I have ever been. I got gamemaker like a couple months back and I had really only done one project and that was going nowhere. I was basically basing it all off of tutorials and stuff. But with gm(48), I honestly looked up maybe one tutorial. The crowd is awesome and I don't even care if I win. I had a great time and am proud of myself either way.

5
The avatar of Ray
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I'll be honest, developing this game was a pretty rough experience! Getting the pixel art for the black hole in the background was the most time consuming thing for me, since art really isn't my specialty. In fact, the black hole was actually supposed to be an object integrated into the gameplay, but it took so long just to draw it that I didn't have time to actually do anything with it! Also, I had more trouble using shaders than I thought I would, so I'll definitely need to work on that. Just goes to show, knowledge of EVERYTHING is important. In terms of code and gameplay development, it was tricky striking a balance between planning ahead and improvising. On one hand you need to plan for what you're going to need, and try not to code sloppily. But on the other hand you really need to hurry up and just get things done, so you have to decide carefully when it's appropriate to use a quick and dirty solution to a problem. I probably only got 7 or 8 hours of sleep the whole weekend, but it was worth it!

5
The avatar of Linkyu
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I wasn't all that inspired by the theme at first but this might be the most innovative game I've made in the end.

I also really appreciate how jams force you to be as productive as possible in a minimum amount of time; I don't condone crunches in the industry, but small challenges like this are good, every now and then.

5
The avatar of MulfoK
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Phew! What a ride gm(48) is! I certaintly learned a ton from the jam, and it's inspired a game idea for me!

If you want be a better game developer in general, and spark some game ideas in your head, gm(48) is the place for you!

5
The avatar of Rs11_s21_N
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Arrr! colisions... Colisions! 6 hours on them and they still make weird things! Why they so hard for me! d'oh. About event: It was my first time when i join it and this was really suddnly event... It was interesting buuut... problems with collisions some little brouke my plans and some of content was not complete... some things work not in best way... but game work almost good and this is so COOL!

5
The avatar of Nick Ver Voort
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I had a great time participating in gm(48) number 30. I was lucky and everything just seemed to gel. This is my first successful game jam with Game Maker so I was happy it went well!

5
The avatar of Amet
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

working on this was grueling and fraught with setbacks. I know I wouldn't have submitted this if not for all the tutorials and all the people who lent a hand. I almost thought the universe was conspiring against me in the last 12 hours as I ran up against endless build errors and corrupted files (side note to self: get better at resolving git conflicts...) and even a power outage that threatened to disqualify me if not for peter.

5
The avatar of Klehrik
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This jam was a fun experience, and I look forward to the next GM48!

5
The avatar of JCx64
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I usually join Ludum Dare and other local jams, but I believe that GM48 are the ones I enjoy most.

It's a way to see what someone can do in just 48 hours with Game Maker, and the source code is usually available to mess with and to learn about.

5
The avatar of Josh K.
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I always have fun in this game jam. Every time I participate I have an amazing time and always push myself to learn something new. The feedback is always super useful, and to any new comers to game development I recommend this game jam!

5
The avatar of Lurk Games
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I'm not going to lie, this was really hard. Especially because I only had 11 hours to work on it rather than 48 (personal reasons). Working with an advantage is extremely difficult, but very interesting and teaches you a lot about game development. I may of not completely finished my game, or got it where I really wanted it to be, but to me, it was a definite success.

5
The avatar of battleZays
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This is a great game jam. I joined this game jam when i was only 2 weeks into coding, and i enjoyed every second.

5
The avatar of Ivanbje
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Great way to practice your skills. Creativity through restriction is a great way to come up with good ideas.

The reviews are also good and give fair criticism that helps you improve.

5
The avatar of Batesville757
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This was my first game jam entry.

I wasnt able to wrap up a lot of the mechanics i was hoping for so by the end of the time and the game it was really a mess.

However I learned a lot from this game jam and am looking forward to making further entries, it was a blast.

5
The avatar of Maximilian
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Was very fun and learned a lot about common mistakes I make

5
The avatar of SuperGamersGames
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This platform is great for seeing what is possible in 48 hours. Making Color Pickers help point out some issues I run into when making games.

5
The avatar of CrashB1111
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

The GM48 is the perfect way for me to rekindle my love for game making. Every time I participate I can see a gradual improvement in my abilities and quality of my games.

5
The avatar of Alan
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This is my first game jam ever and it was quite challenging for me to make a game in such a short time, but i feel like the experience helped me improve my game making ways, it is true that restrictions force us to be creative.

Also i have to say that i am your typical game making hobbyist that has a lot of unfinished engines lying around never to be played by anyone. This is the first time one of my games is out there for everyone to play it, i already got feedback and it feels great.

I encourage everyone to join future game jams, the experience is totally worth the effort.

5
The avatar of kris24
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Participating in GM48 is a fantastic experience! It's intense but very gratifying to come up with and develop a playable game in such a short time frame. I've learned a lot with each game I've put together for the jam, and the community is super supportive and helpful. And its fun to play everyone else's games too!

5
The avatar of Raygun
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This was the first gm48 I participated in, I went in with the goal to make something playable and pretty, so I really went out of my comfort zone and started using code that I had wanted to try but never had a reason to. What I ended up with a huge skill improvement to both making art, music and advanced code.

my key point to take away from this is... get the core game mechanic working in 12 hours, then 12 hours for art and music. then use left over time for polish, polish, bug fixing, polish and polish

5
The avatar of O8PC
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This was my first big game jam. I did not know what to expect from it. I was very anxious to have the theme revealed and see if i could do anything with it. Then, it was like a race. The starting pistol was shot, and the theme was revealed. My original Intention was to stay up all night working on it. While I did stay up rather late, I did not stay up all night. I quickly worked up an idea, and went with it. The first thing to expect from a jam like this: do not expect to make a whole game. Expect a few levels, at most 10. But make those levels intriguing. Do not submit your game early unless you are ABSOLUTELY sure it's ready. As a wise man once said, All work is lost due to a lack of a little more. And most Importantly, do not look at other games and say "Hmph, I can do better than that" without contributing yourself. An unfinished game will never be as good as a finished one. Everyone knows how to start making a game. Not a lot of people know how to finish one. This game was an experience to make.

5
The avatar of Hikikomori
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

GM48 was my first Game Jam. It was a really awesome first experience. The Game Jam is really neat with nice theme. Will sure participate to the next GM48!

5
The avatar of ltsJoe
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Doing everything for this game was a fun experience. It definitely took a lot out of me towards the end, especially being my first real time in coding in awhile. Definitely was an amazing learning experience and a fun little game was made!

5
The avatar of Yosi
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This is a fun game jam with a great community.

5
The avatar of Jaspo
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Originally I was going to make a game for this jam with my cousin (Kris24 on here) but he ended up being busy...so I mostly wrote it off as a no-go. However I had an idea for a quick game from watching a youtube video about swords vs spears and ended up having about 8 spare hours to make something this weekend, so here's the result.

5
The avatar of DroidGames Studio
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

That's a nice way to learn and develop games with originally! even if you are a beginner, with GameMaker Studio is truly easy to make games in such as short period of time!

5
The avatar of Nosiri-N
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I hear many game maker devs talking about gm48 so I decided to try it out myself and it was really fun it pushed me to my limits and made me create new techniques

5
The avatar of Ratchet
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I had a perfect version at 7:00. Deadline gets extended 15 mins so I try to add one little thing to it. Fatal error on my submitted project with no way to fix one simple mistake that completely ruins an entire 48-hour slugfest BY MYSELF.

Probably won't be attending another.

5
The avatar of Croaks
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I'm sweating. I learned a lot in such a short amount of time (especially about time management). The 29th GM48 was my first jam and I'm happy with what I produced.

We all start somewhere and I'm so grateful for this opportunity.

5
The avatar of mitsu
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

The great thing about GM48 is that everyone's using the same platform. This makes it easy to collaborate, discuss code and help each other, especially if you join the GameMaker discord server. It really strengthens the community aspect of the game jam.

5
The avatar of Narxii
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I've never participated in a game jam previously and was excited to join in with this. In the middle of tending to two children and going shopping it's been a blast!. The enjoyment of having a set target and project and cracking on to meet the deadline! definitely participate again.

5
The avatar of Adventure Byte
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I have learned so many useful skills from the GM48. It was the first jam I ever participated in, one that I have entered many times since, and its something that I look forward to participating in again.

Are you looking to create your first game? If so, this is an excellent way to get that done in two days or less. Remember, nothing needs to be perfect in a game jam, it need only be good enough. Have fun and good luck!

5
The avatar of GabMesIRT
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

GM48's game jams are pretty challenging, as there are a lot of awesome and talented artists, designers and coders who participate in them.

5
The avatar of ckau
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

As for a one-man-army (solo developer), GM48 happens in two phases.

The first phase feels like game-design poker. It's all about making choices, about trying to stay in the balance between "What I want to do" and "What I can do in 48 hours" while picking features that fulfill the idea of the game the most.

The second phase is actually a trial. It's all about applying all acquired experience of the GM:S, inventing solutions to new problems and hacking things through while sustaining time and real-life.

Altogether, that's a great opportunity to experiment with a game design, due to the new theme each round and fast and honest feedback.

Wanna design game from topic to features, or in opposite way? Wanna express your current mood, or practice in designing core loops, or to explore new grounds and combine hardly fitting features?

It's all possible, and all welcome. And when you're ready, there's next level for you - competing for the first place in ratings, applying everything you've learned.

5
The avatar of gary butler
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

It's been a year since my first jam. I really started practicing about 6 months ago, wanting to get more than the bottom 5 placements. I've learned so much about completing a project from doing these jams. I am much better with gamemaker and gml now, but that's not my most important lesson. Truly my biggest improvement in the last year is my organization not my coding. I've learned to plan out my day, hour by hour. I have the discipline to actually sit at my computer and program for hours on end without getting distracted or too tired. I've learned what I can and can't do in 48 hours.

5
The avatar of StereoJunkie
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This was my first game jam also my first time coding in like 2 years in GML, so it was a struggle (but a fun one). It was certainly frustrating at times especially when you forget a specific function that you need to use.

I learned that the shit I'm learning at school atm actually has some meaning to it seeing as we used some of the theory in our game.

But the best part was people giving feedback on a game that I made, amazing feeling. Obviously playing other peoples games was also fun but nothing compares to seeing others play your game. Also i currently hold the highscore so get good.

Thank you for reading,

bye

hi

5
The avatar of Batboy
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

As draining and as tiring hacking away at a game for 48 hours is, I'm super glad I participated in my first GM48. It was a very rewarding and exciting experience and I hope I will have the chance to do many more of these in the future!

5
The avatar of Oliver Spicer
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Trying to make a game in 48 hours proves one main thing, and that is how short 48 hours really is. Fun, Stressful and Brain-Numbing is what best describes the feeling that engulfs you throughout the competition.

5
The avatar of Robertsson
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Had lots of fun creating pigmancer. First time creating a game with game maker. Will try to join in on the next GM48 also.

5
The avatar of Maytch
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I had a great time on this game jam. I found out about it the morning it started by a post on /r/gamemaker, so I'd like to thank the organisers for putting the word out there.

5
The avatar of FlashPulse
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Fairy Tale

I ended up wasting a lot of time on the first day due to some nasty collision bugs and not being able to get my surface drawing to show up.

On the second day I got into a better groove, but didn't manage to get all the game-play features in there that I wanted. It was a struggle between polishing what I had VS adding more features.

I decided on polishing and making sure I had a fully working game before adding more stuff.

In the end I'm pretty happy with the game, even though it's not very long. And I had a good time making it. :)

Play and rate Fairy Tale

5
The avatar of ToastKitten
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Great experience overall! The discord was incredible. There were people always willing to help with issues, and it was great to share in some of the communal fun/stress of the event :)

The last 7 hours were intense. I had a great idea that I knew I could execute on if I really pushed it. Even with a few hiccups with GMS2 (a room resource was corrupted and couldn't save, and then eventually deleted itself) I ended up being able to submit with about ~25 minutes left

There were lots of moments that I wished I would have teamed up with somebody. I'm glad I've had the lone experience. I think I'll seek out a team to jam with for the next time I'm able to do one of these!

Thanks again for a great event!

Afterthought: https://www.twitch.tv/seltzyy played my game on stream shortly after the jam ended. I was so nervous that things would crash or go wrong (and maybe they have for some other users) but it was SO MUCH FUN listening to this streamer react to my game live. It was a really cool experience!

5
The avatar of Brupibo
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This jam is one of the best to learn, because it is focused on a single engine. It is very well organized, the community here is helpful and there are participants of all skills, so, you can talk about your questions with anyone. I improved a lot by developing, getting feedback and playing games from this jam. If you are a Game Maker Studio developer (or aspiring to be) you should participate GM48 at least once.

5
The avatar of Tiago Siqueira
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Hello, my name is Tiago, when I heard that there was this Jam I told myself that if I were to participate I would have to show a type of game that would awaken the nostalgia of the games of the past with elements of the present day, during the development of the game I was also developing the little songs with elements of pop music and rip hop, although I had a few days I was happy with the result, I'm having fun with it all, a kiss from Brazil to all!

5
The avatar of kbjwes77
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Whether you're looking for a tight-knit community, putting your abilities to the test, or simply scratching that game development itch, the GM48 is the definitive GameMaker experience.

5
The avatar of Neural Pathway
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

What a great way to put my skills to the test, meet tons of like-minded people, and have fun all at the same time! This was my first time participating in a game jam, and I'm absolutely blown away by the amazing community surrounding this event! I will definitely be doing this again!

5
The avatar of Gabriel
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

In my project Countdown is a project in which I have not put all my work, but in The Legend of Princess Kidnap yes. I hope you like it

5
The avatar of Simon Milfred
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

At the time of writing, I have participated in 7 gm(48) game jams - the 4 latest ones together with my girlfriend. It is a fantastic game jam which is why I keep returning to it. Game jams in general are great ways to play around with new ideas and push for some creativity, and gm(48) has build some solid frames around the whole experience, making both newcomers to jamming (like I once was) as well as avid jammers feel welcome. It is my go-to jam, that's for sure, and the jam I recommend for all GameMaker newcomers.

5
The avatar of QuibbleCoatl
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

The GM48 is the most fun I've had programming and spriting. It's a great way to give yourself the push to complete a project. In the two jams I've participated in, I've learnt quite a bit, such as the important areas that planning ahead can effect when coding and picking up small and useful bits of knowledge that I may have not learned till much later. It's also given me some great ideas for projects I want to now work on.

Always a joy to go through and see what other people have made.

I recommend anyone who is interested gives it a shot.

5
The avatar of MirthCastle
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gP0Z9ehClR0&t=1s

This was a tough one. It was a challenging theme. I love seeing what other people come up with with theme-based Jams. So cool how other people think.

5
The avatar of Chris
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This was my first game jam after several years of using game maker as a hobbyist. The 48 hour timeline is daunting and almost immediately after submission I thought of about a dozen 'no-brainer' changes I could of made. Even lowering the ladder climb speed would have made it much better. Oh well, the feeling that I could have done better makes me excited for the next one!

5
The avatar of Acr515
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

gm(48) is an awesome program run by awesome people. I had an awesome time with the 27th gm(48), even if I wasn't satisfied with my game.

Game jams like this don't only teach you new skills about new game-making skills and techniques, but they also teach you how to create a finished product, a skill which many (especially I) could always use to be more proficient in.

You'll learn more from gm(48) than you will from any other game-making experience.

5
The avatar of Ramkey
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

First game jam competition that can compete with the ludum dare, if you ask me. Had much fun particapating and looking forward to do it again.

5
The avatar of Richard
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

It was an unique programming experience. It was tiring, but at the end, I was glad that I made game in just 2 days :). I recommend this jam for everyone - from beginners to experts.

5
The avatar of Mors
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I've had a lot of fun making a game for this jam. Making a game in 48 hours isn't as hard as it sounds but it's definitely really tiring. Well, at least I'm kind of satisfied with my result!

5
The avatar of Adrien Dittrick
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

SO making this went about how I expected. I started by composing some music, then went hard into gameplay, and then diversified the art. The ONE thing I didn't predict was having to record those gun sound effects with my mouth, as the original ones were disqualifiers.

Hilarious tme making various souds 10/10 would do again

5
The avatar of Loates
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

As I have just finished my 3rd Jam, I thought'd I'd like to discuss what GM48 is to me.

GM48 isn't about the winning, it's not about the place you get. It's a learning experience. You can be completely new to GM, or have years of experience. Either way this jam will really help you. There is always something to be learned in Game maker, from simple things like bug fixing, to harder like organisation and time management.

Whatever you do, don't get put down by the other developers better than you, or by your rating, low or high. Focus on what you've achieved, and what you've taken for the jam. Read through the feedback and be open to suggestions, take them as notes for next time.

However good you are at game maker, GM48 will help you learn more.

5
The avatar of Monkosum
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This was my second time participating on a Game Jam and it was also my second game release. But after about 20 hours I almost gave up since the game was too similar to my other game "Red's Colloseum". But then i changed the Genre from a Top-Down Shooter to a Platformer and that was a good decision.

I made a game about getting to the goal as fast as possible, while also avoiding traps. The levels itself are not easy, but also not too hard. The real challenge comes if you want to rush through a course. And so Momentum Rush was born.

This Game Jam was really fun, especially the second half and I learned that I should try differend things.

5
The avatar of Jean-Bernard G
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This gamejam was a first for me. This was a really good experience. The game we made is pretty hard and i would like to add an option to let the player training in a particular level if we had some more times.

Next time we going to do better. Prepare yourself 😎

5
The avatar of Pol L.
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I was used to procrastination but participating to a game jam made me feel more motivated and I nearly coded during the 48h. That was a very nice experiment !

5
The avatar of lazyeye
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

No matter where your skills lie, no matter what your team looks like, you can always find invaluable lessons to take away from a game jam, and GM48 is one of the most incredible, accepting, and well managed jams out there.

If you want to improve as a game developer, look no further than GM48.

5
The avatar of singleshot
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Well I've been at this for a while now.

I've been making games for years, I started back in middle school. and Even after all this time I still Enjoy it.

GM48 is like a (Timed) Playground to develop games in. the first one was great. my second one went much easier than the first. and my third I went all out in.

And Still find myself counting the days to take another stab at it.

Its Great to just take a few days to see what you can do. and the feedback is always a welcome bonus to it.

I see myself doing this again, And you all should give it a shot too!

5
The avatar of Marco Maureira
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

the game was a real fun experience we at P.E.N.I.S are good friends and actually quite enthusiast of the game making, we decided to make this kind of game and not the platformer most people are making(and we concidered to make) because we wanted to have a great first time on GM48 and the expierience was better than expected and i really hope the team gets together again next time, even if we get last place it's all been very good fun!

5
The avatar of PepePm
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

First time in Gm48. Really tough for me and my team because we had been too ambitious and the low experience didn't help! Anyway, very funny, I will participate again.

5
The avatar of Brandon H Nguyen
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Drawing sprites is fun so it's a good experience. :)

5
The avatar of Kyon
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

GM48 pushed me to finally make something small and release it. This will be my first released game since 10 years. I had a lot of fun and I'm really impressed with myself. I learned a lot!

5
The avatar of Jonathan Ouf
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Participating in GM48 was great! I've never felt this motivated to make something ever before. I'm definitely going to try and participate in future GM48s.

5
The avatar of RCDv57
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Hey look. I actually finished something for once.

5
The avatar of FoxFX
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

My aim was to make this project with some more polished art and intention to make more interesting "malfunctions." Such malfunctions I wanted to make was to have limited view, reverse movement controls, bullets recoiling the ship, and more. There was also some desire to add in a few bosses into this game, but due to both the time limit and level of skill I have with GMS2 I tried not to overscope.

While this was not my first time making a SHMUP, I feel I took a bigger step in my skill in game jams with how much better this one turned out. The addition of also using more than one sound effects also helped (credit to site Bfxr for the sound effects for this game). The artwork in this game was all done my hand through GMS2's image editor and Piskel. Fonts were found in cooltext.com.

Overall, this was a wild ride for me personally.

5
The avatar of Grey M.
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This project was a lot of fun. I streamed a good majority of my development and had a lot of fun doing so. The drive and push it gives you to make a full, complete project is very valuable.

5
The avatar of Snowstorm1011
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I've done this a couple times now, and each time is more fun than the last. It's cool seeing how I've improved since I started, and overall participating has been a great deal of fun!

5
The avatar of Santino Sandor
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

GM48 is not just a jam it is a fun way to test our knowledge.It makes us think in different ways to come up with good ideas.I think everyone should try it.While I was creating Static I learned a lot about pixel art and my weaknesses in game development.I really enjoyed it.

5
The avatar of Dylan Smith
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

The GM48 is always a great opportunity to flex your design muscles, get out of your comfort zone, and try something new.

It is a creative challenge backed by a wonderful community and an incredible infrastructure. No matter how good or bad your game is, you will find constructive support and the ability to look back and build from your strengths and weaknesses.

I strongly recommend participation for new developers trying to gain experience, seasoned veterans looking for a fresh perspective, and everybody in between.

5
The avatar of ShaunJS
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Game Jams are a shotgun blast of experience in game development from planning through to publishing. They won't teach you everything but they're great practice in a lot of things that are otherwise impossible to really practice.

The GameMaker community is full of so many wonderful and helpful people. The GM48 and this very website is a testament to that constructive and enthusiastic spirit.

5
The avatar of Thomas Sjerps
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This jam is a blast. It's a lot of fun to see your finished game, and you learn a lot about the development process in the meantime!

5
The avatar of Grace
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I always tend to have fun when jam season hits. Its a great chance to sit back and relax without having to stop programming or writing music or whatever. Creative freedom with minimal restrictions. It helps that GM48 is run by people who know what they're doing!

5
The avatar of Robert
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

It was a gloomy theme for me, and looking back it was fun to make, especially the voice stuff! :D

5
The avatar of Atomic
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I found it pretty hard coming up with an idea in the beginning of the jam, but as soon as my team mate had arrived we quickly figured out what it should be about. I learned a few new, very useful things, e.g. path finding, of which will certainly have future use. :) Overall, had a great time. I'm getting better at time managing, and coding in general thanks to these jams.

5
The avatar of KCKy
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

GM48 was difficult but rewarding. Two days don't seem as much time but many things can be made in this timespan.

5
The avatar of Christopher Weller
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I've participated in 3 gm48 challenges so far, and everytime I continue to be impressed. My partner Ian is a wizard in GameMaker and I love seeing him make our creation's come to life! 10/10 will continue to participate every quarter.

5
The avatar of Jmation
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

It's always a challenge to create something in such a short time but one of the most useful aspects of the game jam is the feedback. Often the feedback will highlight something positive or areas of improvement which gives you direction and snaps you out of the bubble you are in.

5
The avatar of Fin_Nolimit
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

Team

My son, Elijah (16) did all the animation. My daughter, Jasmine (12) wrote the song, recorded it and put it in the game all during the JAM. I'm the coder

Planning

We surprisingly came up with the concept of the game in the first 15 minutes of the JAM.

Work Hours

I started off coding for 15 straight hours. I slept then woke up and did 19 more hours. I slept a final time and woke up with only 4 and a half hours left.

Problems

Elijah draws using a drawing tablet and pen. He uses flash The problem with Flash is how difficult it was to import the frames into Gamemaker. He would send me about 12 sub images and I would have to add each one as an individual sprite and then open the sprite and copy five at a time and then open the actual sprite and past them. When I was done he would get on and re position them. Insane -- not efficient at all. We finished with 12 minutes left and I found a bug in the code after it was too late to resubmit. I had an absolutely awesome experience!!

5
The avatar of Spasco
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I've learned a lot during GM48!

The experience has been incredibly fun and I'll definitely be joining more game jams in the future. Going through all the other entries is just as fun as making our game was!

5
The avatar of Brian Mowat
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

This jam was the most positive jam experience I've ever had. That being said, it's the most work I've ever done in a 48 hour jam making two full tracks and designing our levels, but our team worked great together and pushed ourselves to make a great game. The community has been supportive and constructive, which I always appreciate. It's so awesome seeing the games people made. I'll definitely be part of another gm48 in the future!

5
The avatar of WalkDiGidong
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

It was interesting. I was able to develop the game for the first time in less than 48 hours. I liked my idea and I think that someday I'll finish this game to the end. It's a pity that I did not have time to make a sound and a better graphics for the game. But it's okay. Someday I'll learn to do it even faster. Thanks for this jam. Now I realized that developing games is fun and interesting.

5
The avatar of Iodine
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I got called in to make SFX because the musician originally on the team didn't want to do it. I spent 30 minutes in bfxr and with my sound libraries making some effects. 10/10 fun experience

5
The avatar of matharoo
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

GM48 is always fun because the themes are amazing. This is a jam I'll always look forward to!

5
The avatar of Aetherbot
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

I had a much bigger vision when I started, but I didn't do much the first day which forced me to finish the majority of the game within the last 7 hours or so (I woke up at 10 am and the deadline was 5 pm.) I ended up being pretty disappointed with how much stuff didn't make it into the game, but I still think the game is pretty neat. The jam is really good at forcing me to finish a damn game, which is nice.

5
The avatar of drooms.
42nd gm(48) The gm(48) is a community event for GameMaker developers of all ages and abilities 2022-04-16T00:00:00+00:00 2022-04-18T00:00:00+00:00 gm48.net https://gm48.net YoYo Games

The Jam was a lot of fun! One tip I can give to future participants: Nail down what you want to do as quickly as possible! If you don't, it might come around later and bring unwanted trouble!

5